April 3rd – “Choose not a life of imitation…”

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Excercise, health, life, Motivation
Tags: , , , ,

eyes open…. no alarm for the first time in months. sweet… check the clock and YES 7 hours, one more than normal. Mind you I have no problems sleeping, I sleep just fine when I find the time to do it. I spent a few moments thinking about life, my goals, my expectations, how I feel, what I want out of today. WHO I AM.

I reflected on yesterday. I was at the Perform Better seminar in Seattle, Wa. I can’t say I saw anything I hadn’t seen before but I did enjoy many of the people I met and the energy they brought. However, I saw a few people trying to talk the talk and clearly not walking the walk. This always makes me look at life, purpose, integrity, defining what really matters and why I do what I do. WHO AM I?

grabbing clothes…. downing some water… picking shoes….

good thing all our shoes weren’t in front of the door, I would have never made my way out….  iPod on, Can’t Stop (RHCP). I listened to the same song 3 times in a row while I made my way to the track where I did a dynamic warm up.

“Can’t stop addicted to the shin dig”      “Choose not a life of imitations”      “Go write your message on the pavement”     “Kick start the golden generator”      “This life is more than ordinary”

Ok then, here we go…..

I put the iPod down, because although music is a great motivator, I wanted to connect with myself and my surroundings. I could hear the birds, my breathing, my steps and the voice of Martin Rooney. Yesterday I picked up great sprinting (& life) advice from Mr Rooney. His words were going through my head when I started, when I pushed harder, when I ran faster and when I decided it was time to stop! (7 – 50 yard hill sprints all out)

I talk the talk and I walk the walk. I care about my health, my wellness, my fitness, my relationships, my words, my contribution to my kids and to society. I care that people listen. I speak my message day in and day out and I smile when I do it… always! I don’t always feel great but you WILL get my 100% every time!

I believe there are no limits. I am not defined by anyone but myself. I decide WHO I AM. We all have that power. Now take a moment and define how you want your life to be and then be TRUE to it. I’m not here telling you how it should be, that is for you to decide ….but once you do… BE IT 100%!

because what we do matters….“This life is more than just a read thru”


want to read my post about hill sprints or get info on speed training check out Parisi School or see what’s up with Martin Rooney.

Comments
  1. hitgirl says:

    Love this and love you. S.

Leave a Reply

