Are you having FUN yet?!

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Motivation, running, support
Tags: , , ,

Hill Sprints! something I LOVE…

I just came in form a run, hill sprints to be exact. I walked over to the elementary school track rubbed my freezing hands through a necessary dynamic warm up  (especially for someone my age) I then proceeded to jog up the road to a nice steep spot. This is where I like to run, all out as fast as I can. I sprint till I have to gasp for air and then still push a few more seconds of sprinting out of my legs until my speed has slowed and I turn back to go down and start again.

I typically run anywhere from 5-10 sprints depending on a multitude of factors, the most important being when I lose over all speed.  (or in other words, when I feel my sprinting probably looks pretty sad to anyone who may be watching)  Today was my first hill sprint run in a few months so I figured I’d be happy with whatever and I could improve upon it next week. At #5 I felt I had done my best, although #5 felt pretty bad, so I determined I would do 2 more because I never finish when I “think” I am done but only when I am truly done. #6 was pretty good and then #7 totally sucked….

the voices start…

I AM WHO I CHOOSE TO BE…. HOW YOU FINISH IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN HOW YOU START…. I’M NOT DONE YET…

these voices in my head are my own, it’s the constant repetition of enthusiastic support I give my clients and classes everyday

#8 bam… that was good!

you think that’s all you’ve got I KNOW YOU HAVE MORE…. NO QUITTERS….

#9 better!

WHAT I DO RIGHT NOW DEFINES ME

panting at the top of the hill 10 yards farther than any of the other sprints #10 is done.

TAKE THAT MILLER RD.

In my life I have chosen to not quit. I may fail over and over and over. I may think I have “had it all” just to be proven wrong and watch it all go away… again and again. I never quit. The mountain of hardships and accomplishments I have overcome and stand on top of today is GREAT. I have had a lot of life… an amazing life. I am so grateful for what I have gotten to experience good and bad, fun and fretful, sweet and sad… I LOVE it all. This mountain looks big today but where I stand now will be under the clouds in a few years… I’m planning to pack a lot more into my days, build this mountain high.

So whether the mountain I am facing is running up Miller Rd or paying my bills or loving my haters. I do it with a smile and a perseverance you do not want to mess with.

We are all given a choice… lay down and take it or stand up and make it. I choose to live fully and love every minute of it. Every time I feel overwhelmed with a situation I just smile, shake it off and strategize my move because guess what friends… this GAME called LIFE… it’s FUN!

Eleni

 

What’s your mountain look like? Are you having fun yet?!

Comments
  1. Holly Danks says:

    Wow. You go, girl. Proud of you for so many reasons and mountains in your life. And I know to listen to YOUR voice in MY head as I work on my own mountain. I appreciate your enthusiastic support and advice as my own positive voice becomes clearer and louder.

    And yes, I know better than to mess with you.

  2. […] to read my post about hill sprints or get info on speed training check out Parisi School or see what’s up with Martin […]

Leave a Reply

