It ends today!

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Diet, Excercise, health, support
Tags: , , , ,

Special Guest Blog- Holly Danks

It started with a vacation to Disneyland last March. It continued through a dream golf trip in April, a family tragedy in July and a trip home for my father’s 80th birthday in October.

It ends today.

Because if I don’t quit eating junk and making excuses for not working out, all my hard work losing 80 pounds in 2009 will be erased, a piece of candy (or two) here, a bowl of ice cream or popcorn there.

My health gains are being erased by weight gains:

— My surgically repaired knees are hurting again, after I was able to walk golf courses and play softball the past two summers without pain.

— My cholesterol is back up, after having gone down so much when I lost weight that my startled doctor said, “No lower!”

— My blood pressure, migraines and overall “blah” feelings also are on the rise.

When my Get Fit Now trainer Eleni K. got me back on the scale, my worst fears were confirmed. I knew my new clothes are tighter, my thighs are beginning to rub again, my endurance on the spin bike is down and I’m not able to lift as heavy of weights as I had just a few months ago.  But there it was staring me in the face – 30 pounds gained in the past year. If I don’t get back on the right track, what’s it all been for? An exercise in futility? Throwing away money on training and a new wardrobe, as well as tossing aside my health? And the longer I wait to turn the tables – or literally get up from the table, couch and refrigerator – the harder it is going to be.

That’s why, as of today, I’ve quit diet soda cold turkey. At Eleni’s urging, I came home from the gym and cleaned out my cupboards, tossing box after box of processed mac’n’cheese and salty crackers, bag after bag of buttery microwave popcorn and tortilla chips, piles of leftover Christmas candy and cans of hot chocolate.

No excuses. No rationalizing that because I lost the weight before it’s OK to drop the diet, or rather, ditch what should have become a new lifestyle. Because what started out as just one Mickey Mouse-shaped pretzel for fun at Disneyland and special after-golf Southern punch at Pinehurst led to finishing Dad’s monstrosity of a sheet cake and masking the pain with comfort food after my husband’s brother suddenly died.

Before I knew it, I was bringing home pizza every week, plopping in front of the TV and eating a full bag of popcorn every night and raiding the candy Christmas presents any time I darn-well pleased.

So I sat down at my computer today – with my water bottle actually filled with water and not a sports drink – to pledge in writing, for all to see, that I will not go back to that unhealthy, overweight person I was before working so hard to get in shape. What a waste that would be.

Besides getting rid of the bad stuff in the kitchen, I am writing out new goals for weight loss and a schedule of workouts to help accomplish them. I also need to plan out meals, household chores and craft projects so I can get motivated and boost my self-esteem by checking off what I accomplish.

It is easy to fall back on old habits. Sticking with change is hard. But I’ve learned it’s even harder starting over.

To get support living healthier please listen to Get Fit Now Radio

As a trainer, it’s hard to hear Holly’s story. I helped support her through losing over 80 pounds. I hoped to see her enjoy many years of good health, free of pain and medications. It hard to see her struggle and “start over” but as I commented on episode 1/31/11 there are no limits to hitting rock bottom. We can find ourselves in the same place over and over.  Holly’s story is not unique, I hear it all the time. Let’s try and learn from the struggle of others. Life will give you no shortage of opportunities to get “off track” so maybe changing your attitude is what is needed. For example,  one might look at fuel (diet) and movement (exercise) as necessities to life which are permanent not temporary. Keep in mind, one can only help another so much. The individual has to make a choice to control their life and realize  their potential, it can’t be done for them. Holly asked for help is now getting herself back on track.  I am immensely proud of her effort. ~ Eleni K

Comments
  1. hitgirl says:

    Congratulations Holly on taking the bold step of public announcement and sharing your story. It’s one that a lot of people (myself included) can relate to. We’re in your corner!

    Sandy
    Hit to Fit – Victoria

  2. Eric says:

    Holly, Thanx for writing this. I too have gotten off track and gained back a portion of what I lost with Eleni and am still searching for the motivation to get back on track. At this point I am treading water and still looking for a way through the excuses. You have given me food for thought. You are an inspiration. -E

Leave a Reply

