Beauty… In the eye of the beholder… or not?!

Posted: October 18, 2010 in body image, Diet, Excercise, health, self care / support
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“I hate myself!” I cried to my mother. “I’m fat, I’m ugly and I feel totally disgusting!”Katherine Schwarzenegger, age 10 / Intro to Rock What You’ve Got

Who tells us what is beautiful? Who has the right to define beauty for someone? Should media and in turn society have the power to tell us who we are? NO!!!

I asked a group of women today how they felt about media and body image. The answer…. “it teaches us to hate each other and ourselves.” Beauty is not defined by looks alone. Most women, 76%, feel it should be defined by other qualities in addition to looks. The answer most women gave me… CONFIDENCE. Confidence determines beauty. Anyone and EVERYONE is beautiful. What makes one stand out is confidence. Self esteem leads to confidence. What zaps us of our self esteem? Feeling like we aren’t good enough. Being shown an average of 5,000 advertising messages a day. 1 out of 3.8 network television commercials has a message of attractiveness in it. Defining our views of beauty. Watch…

And its not just the media. We carry on the problem without even knowing it by asking our friends if we look fat, hurting our frenemies by saying they could use more make up, telling our daughters we could lose a few pounds, getting a breast augmentation. We buy into what is being sold and re-sell it! These feelings of inadequacy lead to depression, low self esteem, eating disorders and sometimes suicide. How sad is that. So how do we stop?

EDUCATE. Learn the facts! The images we see are not real. They are not an accurate representation of our population. The aren’t even an accurate image of the person. As Cindy Crawford stated, “I wish I looked like Cindy Crawford.” Get more concerned with your health than with looking a certain way. Find out how to eat and exercise right and you will find your potential. You aren’t going to grow to 6′ if you’re 5’3″ or have blue eyes if you’ve got brown…stop trying to be something you’re not. Embrace who you are, not just the outside but the inside…. be confident and beauty will be yours!

WATCH THIS VIDEO

READ THIS BOOK

SHARE WHAT YOU HAVE LEARNED

Knowledge is wasted if not shared. Help someone out! Support others in their journey to feel good about themselves, so we can all be shouting out “I love myself!” while we rock what we’ve got.

Eleni K

Comments
  1. hitgirl says:

    You and I have talked about this subject before and it’s a doozy of a whopper. You know my view – a beautiful body is one in motion. But I agree – confidence is seriously attractive.

Leave a Reply

