can you do a 2 piece? …oh ya!!

Posted: September 16, 2010 in Diet, Excercise, health, Motivation
Tags: , , , ,

I’m traveling back to the land of bacon wrapped hot dogs to share with you the story of how I put on 50 extra pounds and then dropped it! It all started in 1997 I got pregnant weighing in at 117. Although I ate poorly I had a beautiful baby boy and was back in size 2 pants in under 2 weeks. I was 25. Fast forward to 1 year and 5 days later when I got pregnant with my second child….ouch! In less than 2 weeks I knew I was in trouble. The weight came and came and came and my doc told me to stop but it just wouldn’t. I was “healthy” with no major problems or risks regarding my pregnancy, but I was FAT. I hadn’t been exercising at the time I got pregnant so I made no plan to start.  The bacon wrapped hot dogs and double burgers at 3am weren’t helping much, on top of that I was drinking milk like mad, but not skim or 1 or 2% but whole milk with added sugar in it….ewww. Well ewww was right. After baby girl popped out I had thighs that looked like orange peel and no clothes but maternity wear to sport. A few months after my daughter was born someone asked me when I was due…. I was holding my baby. Dang! This was going to be over and never happen again.

So I walked… I started 2 weeks post cesarean and lifted weights as soon as I got doctor clearance. Everyday I was at the gym. I had a lot of inspiration, I was living in beautiful Cabo San Lucas, Mexico…. land of perfect bodies and tons of celebrities to gawk at. I walked on a treadmill in front of the beach and dreamed of all the bikinis I would buy and wear one day…I was going to live in a bikini and look amazing in it. And I finally did and I’ve never turned back…oh I have fluctuated from 12-22% body fat in the last 10 years But I have stayed clear of cellulite down to my knees and the obvious path to clogged arteries I was headed down.

Clean eating and working out daily makes me feel good and I share it with my clients every day at work.  It is about balance! Food is fuel. It is not a treat or reward. Eating healthy isn’t about depriving yourself it is about treating yourself with respect.

Eleni K

Leave a Reply

